New
Find
Notify
Tools

Grover Bishop
 Login/Join

<Donna Gates>
posted
I'm a fourth grade teacher and my students are researching their family history. I have a student who is researching Depty Sheriff Glover Bishop. We would appreciate anything you could provide. Thank you,
gatesd@gore.k12.ok.us

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You can find a great deal of information pertaining to the legendary Grover Bishop in the book, "The Bad Boys of the Cookson Hills." New Forums Press, Stillwater, Oklahoma

geocities.com/ezlane2002/Homepage

Posts: 126 | Registered: Wed December 10 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Grover C. Bishop was born on April 1, 1894 in Tennessee or Rogers, Arkansas. In 1917, he was living in Oklahoma where he was a barber. In 1930, he was living with his wife in Tahlequah where he was a deputy sheriff for Cherokee County. He was the Sheriff of Cherokee County in 1942. He died in March 1980 probably in Tahlequah.
**REFERENCES**
-1930 Federal Census, Tahlequah, Ward 2, Cherokee Co., OK, ED#11-16, Sheet#21B
-Social Security Administration Death Index
-World War 1 Draft Registration, #1494, 35-1-4-A
-Oklahoma Supreme Court Network Website, Gordon v. State, 131 P.2D 503, 75 Okl.Cr.356

On the Trail
Diron Ahlquist
Secretary, Oklahombres Inc.

Posts: 373 | Location: Oklahoma City, OK | Registered: Wed December 10 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
As a small child, my family had a cabin in Cherokee Co., Oklahoma on land we purchased from Grover Bishop that was near his home. I remember many times visiting Grover and his wife.

I am looking for an election poster for when he was running for deputy or sheriff.

Posts: 1 | Registered: Sun November 12 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post